Locking (Publishing) a Master Schedule

This article provides you with the steps required to LOCK a Master Schedule for a given building/school level. Generally speaking, in order to make Course Schedules visible to those with access to Schooltool, the master schedule must have beeen "locked" at least one time (a first lock).

Typically this is done by a member of the guidance team at your school, which can include Principals and other decision makers. Think of "locking" a schedule as if you were "publishing the schedule" - therefore if a schedule isn't published (locked), it's not then considered official/final and therefore is should not be visible.

Schedules can be locked in different ways for different reasons as described below:

Lock Type How To What's it Do? When to Do It Is it safe?
Primary Lock

This happens automatically the first time you click the "Lock" button on a given master schedule.

Read this article which explains how to do a "Primary Lock":

https://www.edutech.org/resources/student-systems/...

 

Batch master scheduling tools become purposely disabled, and course schedules are made visible to students and staff, assuming no separate schedule publish dates have been set as described in this article:

https://www.edutech.org/resources/student-systems/schooltool/jobaids/scheduling-topics/schedule-visibility

 

After the Master Schedule is built, all rooms and teacher assignments have been completed, and the majority of students have been loaded into their schedules either manually or through the Student Schedule Builder. Yes because even after a "first lock" counselors can still work on last-minute scheduling changes by using the Counseling module. Additionally, study-hall overlays can still be performed, to fill in any empty periods in student schedules with Study Halls.
Final Lock

This happens the second time you click the "Lock" button on a given master schedule

Read this article which explains how to do a "Final Lock":

https://www.edutech.org/resources/student-systems/...

All of the Student Schedule Builder tools (including the study hall overlay) are purposely disabled, making the Master Schedule considered final. Although this is truly an optional step, it can be done after study halls have been placed, and once the schedule is considered completely final. Read the "Is it safe" column before proceeding. It is safe to do, but keep in mind that some schools will benefit from not performing a second lock, especially if study halls need to change from marking period to marking period.